Mayor Brian Bowman will be recommending today that Council appoint two new members to the Winnipeg Police Board including a new Chair of the Board.

“The Winnipeg Police Board plays a critical governance and civilian oversight role within the administrative structure of the police service,” said Mayor Brian Bowman. “In addition to their governance responsibilities, the Board is also an important liaison between the community and the police service, and is responsible for ensuring that community needs and values are reflected in policing priorities and objectives.”

Mayor Bowman is recommending that Council appoint Mr. David Asper as Chair of the Winnipeg Police Board. Mayor Bowman is also recommending that Council appoint Mr. Brian Scharfstein as a citizen appointment replacing Mr. Derek Johannson who resigned his position with the Board in March 2017.

Mr. Asper is a respected corporate executive, community leader, and philanthropist. He is also a lawyer and legal educator who has taught at a number of universities and is noted for his lead gift that established the David Asper Centre for Constitutional Rights at the University of Toronto and for successfully representing David Milgaard in one of Canada's most well-known wrongful conviction cases.

Mr. Asper has extensive board experience. He is currently Chair of The Asper Foundation and Chair and Co-founder of Amenity Health Care. Formerly, he served as Chairs of the Winnipeg Football Club, Winnipeg Folk Festival and as the first citizen Chair of CentreVenture.

Mr. Scharfstein is a pedorthist, and principal owner of Canadian Footwear and the FootHealth Centre in Winnipeg and Calgary. He is also former Chair of the Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce.

“David and Brian are both strong community leaders who are very committed to our community and city,” said Mayor Bowman. “I believe their combined leadership, community, and business experience will be an asset to the Board and I am pleased they have agreed to be recommended for appointment.”

“I also want to thank Derek for all the time and commitment he devoted to serving on the Police Board,” said Mayor Bowman. “Derek played an important role in preparing two police budgets, and helped lay the foundation for future financial sustainability of the police service as well as the city.”

Mr. Asper and Mr. Scharfstein’s appointments will be subject to successfully passing background security checks which is required of all Police Board appointments. If approved by Council, Mr. Asper and Mr. Scharfstein’s appointments will be effective immediately with their term expiring on December 31, 2018.

The Winnipeg Police Board is comprised of a maximum of seven members including two appointments made by the Province of Manitoba, and five appointments, including the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Board, appointed by City Council.

Current members of the Winnipeg Police Board include Councillor Ross Eadie, Barry Tuckett (Vice-Chair), Mary Jane Loustel, Larry Licharson, and Alicja Szarkiewicz.

The Winnipeg Police Board was established by City of Winnipeg By-Law 148/2012, in accordance with the Province of Manitoba’s Police Services Act, which was enacted in 2009.

The legislated mandate of the Winnipeg Police Board is to provide civilian governance respecting the enforcement of law, the maintenance of the public peace and the prevention of crime in the City of Winnipeg, and to provide the administrative direction and organization required to provide an adequate and effective police service in the city.