WINNIPEG – Mayor Brian Bowman will be nominating a new chair of the Winnipeg Police Board for ratification at the organizational meeting of Council next week.

“The Winnipeg Police Board plays a critical governance and civilian oversight role within the administrative structure of the police service,” said Mayor Brian Bowman. “In addition to their governance responsibilities, the Board is also an important liaison between the community and the police service, and is responsible for ensuring that community needs and values are reflected in policing priorities and objectives.”

Mayor Bowman will be nominating the appointment of Councillor Kevin Klein as Chair of the Winnipeg Police Board to pick up and continue the work of outgoing Chair Mr. David Asper whose term expires at the end of December.

“I want to thank David for the incredibly strong leadership he’s demonstrated in the role of Winnipeg Police Board Chair,” said Mayor Bowman. “Throughout his time as Chair, David demonstrated an incredible amount of decorum and professionalism and made several critical improvements to strengthen the Board’s governance structure. David is a strong community leader, and his legal and business experience has been a tremendous asset to the Board, city Council, and the entire public service.”

Mr. Asper was the first citizen Chair appointed to the Winnipeg Police Board. He was appointed in April 2017 following Councillor Jeff Browaty’s earlier decision to resign as Chair following the Board’s unanimous recommendation that he be removed from the position.

Councillor Klein’s appointment is subject to successfully passing background security checks which is required of all Police Board appointments, and would be effective immediately following ratification by Council. Councillor Klein would be the fourth Chair of the Board.

The Winnipeg Police Board is comprised of a maximum of seven members including two appointments made by the Province of Manitoba, and five appointments, including the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Board, appointed by City Council.

Current members of the Winnipeg Police Board include Councillor Ross Eadie, Barry Tuckett (Vice-Chair), Mary Jane Loustel, Brian Scharfstein, and Alicja Szarkiewicz.

The Winnipeg Police Board was established by City of Winnipeg By-Law 148/2012, in accordance with the Province of Manitoba’s Police Services Act, which was enacted in 2009.

The legislated mandate of the Winnipeg Police Board is to provide civilian governance respecting the enforcement of law, the maintenance of the public peace and the prevention of crime in the City of Winnipeg, and to provide the administrative oversight and organization required to provide an adequate and effective police service in the city.