WINNIPEG – Mayor Brian Bowman will be recommending today that Council appoint two new members to the Winnipeg Police and make one reappointment.

“The Police Board is an important liaison between the community and the police service,” said Mayor Brian Bowman. “It also plays a critical governance and civilian oversight role within the administrative structure of the police service, and is responsible for ensuring that community needs and values are reflected in policing priorities and objectives.”

Mayor Bowman is recommending that Council appoint Mohamed El Tassi and Edna Nabess as citizen appointments filling current vacancies on the board from outgoing members Mary Jane Loustel and Barry Tuckett. Mayor Bowman is also recommending reappointment of Brian Sharfstein.

“I’m pleased to be recommending these community leaders for Council’s consideration for appointment to the Police Board,” said Mayor Bowman.

Mohamed EL Tassi is a local business leader, Chief Executive Officer of Sargent Blue Jeans, and manages Peerless Garments. El Tassi has served on many community boards, and is an active supporter of many community organizations and charities. Edna Nabess established and runs two successful businesses, White Feather CreeAtions and CreeAtions & Artist Showcase, is a former foster parent, and participates and supports a number of community boards, charitable events, and fundraising activities.

Background security checks for Mohamed El Tassi and Edna Nabess’ appointments have been completed which are required of all Police Board appointments. If approved by Council, El Tassi and Nabess’ appointment, and Scharfstein’s reappointment, will be effective immediately with each of their terms expiring on December 31, 2020.

The Winnipeg Police Board is comprised of a maximum of seven members including two appointments made by the Province of Manitoba, and five appointments, including the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Board, appointed by City Council.

Current members of the Winnipeg Police Board include Councillor Kevin Klein (Charleswood-Tuxedo-Westwood), Chair, Councillor Markus Chambers (St. Norbert-Seine River), Brian Scharfstein, Alicja Szarkiewicz, and Damon Johnston.

The Winnipeg Police Board was established by City of Winnipeg By-Law 148/2012, in accordance with the Province of Manitoba’s Police Services Act, which was enacted in 2009.

The legislated mandate of the Winnipeg Police Board is to provide civilian governance respecting the enforcement of law, the maintenance of the public peace and the prevention of crime in the City of Winnipeg, and to provide the administrative direction and organization required to provide an adequate and effective police service in the city.