Treaty One First Nations to be Presented With Keys to the City

As part of today’s historic public signing ceremony for Naawi-Oodena, which will create the largest Urban Indigenous Economic Zone in Canadian history, Mayor Brian Bowman will present seven Keys to the City to the Chiefs on behalf of the seven First Nations who are signatories to the first of the numbered Treaties originally signed on August 3, 1871.

“On the occasion of formalizing the Gaawijijigemangit Agreement, which will create the single largest, strategically located Urban Indigenous Economic Zone in Canada, I will be honoured to present Keys to the City to mark this momentous occasion,” said Mayor Brian Bowman. “This is the framework for economic reconciliation that can be modeled in communities across our nation and as Winnipeg’s highest honour, I can see no better way to symbolize the importance of today’s public signing ceremony than by bestowing Keys to the City to the Treaty One First Nations.”

Keys to the City will be dedicated to: 

  • Chief Gordon Bluesky on behalf of Brokenhead Ojibway Nation
  • Chief Kyra Wilson on behalf of Long Plan First Nation
  • Chief Glenn Hudson on behalf of Peguis First Nation
  • Chief Craig Alexander on behalf of Roseau River Anishinabe First Nation
  • Chief Derrick Henderson on behalf of Sagkeeng First Nation
  • Chief Trevor Prince on behalf of Sandy Bay Ojibway First Nation
  • Chief Jason Daniels on behalf of Jason Daniels

The Key to the City is Winnipeg’s highest honour, which recognizes the significant contributions of dignitaries visiting the city. Today represents the 7th presentation of the Key to the City awarded by Mayor Bowman. Previous recipients include advocate for Indigenous children Dr. Cindy Blackstock, organ donation advocates Bernadine and Toby Boulet, musician and philanthropist David Foster, hockey legend Teemu Selanne, Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra conductor Alexander Mickelthwate, and internationally renowned ballerina and dancer Evelyn Hart.